Native speaker Englishes

For sharing and chatting about any interesting information related to Linguistics.

Native speaker Englishes

Postby Richard » 28 May 2019 06:01

Is, say, British English just one variety among many or does it have some sort of special status? If so, what's special about British English?
Richard

Re: Native speaker Englishes

Postby stevelouw » 28 May 2019 06:56

It is interesting that in our faculty we have only one representative of England, and perhaps that is some sort of metaphor for how English has moved on in the last century. In that sense, British English can't really hold any special status, since it is so hugely outnumbered now. However, in South Africa when I was a student, British English was our goal- a symbol of learning and culture. SA had been British territory, some of our leaders had been educated in England, and there other strong historical links to the British. Anything and everything 'good' came from England. Our teachers tried desperately to drill out of us our misguided South African English, like saying 'milk' with a schwa, so we could sound more 'proper' and perhaps make something of ourselves. Just to say, though, they didn't succeed - I still can't say milk properly.
stevelouw

Postby sgtowns » 29 May 2019 08:00

Richard wrote:Is, say, British English just one variety among many or does it have some sort of special status? If so, what's special about British English?

One of my take-aways so far this week is that American and British English hold a special status mostly because of marketing and brand-name awareness. We have strong global publishing houses, brand names like IELTS and TOEFL, and evangelists like the British Council. Through this marketing and brand recognition, we have convinced the rest of the world that our way is the best way.