The Thai society and foreign English teachers

For sharing and chatting about any interesting information related to Linguistics.

The Thai society and foreign English teachers

Postby justthedave » 22 Sep 2020 20:33

As most of you might know I’m doing my PhD research about the privilege and marginalization of foreign (native and non-native) English teachers in Thailand. I am looking at the working context, the social perception, and the overall self-image of both the native and the non-native English teachers in Thailand.

And here lies my question.... what do you believe the Thai society really thinks about foreign (native and non-native ) English teachers in Thailand?
justthedave

Re: The Thai society and foreign English teachers

Postby Wannapa » 23 Sep 2020 10:02

I would say it's very common that Thai people think native English teachers provide good (better) linguistic models. I don't know why Thai people care much about native accent, but they certainly do. Their attitudes towards nonnative English teachers (e.g. Filipino) are more positive now. You can explore further if it's because they have had good experience with nonnative English teachers or it's the only choice.
Wannapa

Postby stevelouw » 24 Sep 2020 11:51